Google Translate
Google Search

Woodbridge Junior School

Happy Children Inspired to Learn

Supporting Children

According to Maslow, we have five categories of needs: physiological, safety, love, esteem, and self-actualization. In this theory, higher needs in the hierarchy begin to emerge when people feel they have sufficiently satisfied the previous need.

Trying to fix things.

Sometimes as adults we try to make things better or cheer up the child.
Really we need to acknowledge how the child feels, helping them to understand that is ok and normal to feel the way they feel.
This short clip from Inside Out shows how Joy tries hard to make it better but really Bing Bong needs to feel sad in order to move on and feel happy again.